

Outstanding Young Journalist Award Recipients

For recognition of the outstanding work of a journalist under the age of 30. One winner is chosen annually from a weekly newspaper and a daily newspaper.

2000	Steve Buchholz, Rapid City Journal Jeremy Waltner, Freeman Courier	2010	Joe O'Sullivan, Watertown Public Opinion Billy Drown, Hill City Prevailer News
2001	Jerrod Niedermyer, Brookings Register Wendy Williams, Custer County Chronicle	2012	Chris Huber, The Daily Republic, Mitchell Matt Heinrichs, Lake Preston Times
2002	Chuck Blomberg, The Daily Republic, Mitchell Jason Ferguson, Custer County Chronicle	2013	Luke Hagen, The Daily Republic, Mitchell Carrie Moore, Custer County Chronicle
2003	Wayne Hammond, Watertown Public Opinion Laura Woodard, Hill City Prevailer News	2014	Jeremy Hoeck, Yankton Daily Press & Dakotan Erica Gaspar, Tea Weekly
2004	Elissa Grossell, American News, Aberdeen Erik Kaufman, Hutchinson Herald	2015	Brooke Cersosimo, The Daily Republic, Mitchell
2005	Rich Remmers, Watertown Public Opinion Sarah Ebeling, Parker New Era	2016	Evan Hendershot, The Daily Republic, Mitchell Emre "Ray" Erku, Reporter & Farmer, Webster
2006	Emily Arthur, American News, Aberdeen Ariel Emery, Southern Union County	2017	Marcus Traxler, The Daily Republic, Mitchell Dana Ferguson, Argus Leader, Sioux Falls
	Leader-Courier, Elk Point	2018	Ellen Bardash, The Daily Republic, Mitchell
2007	Seth Tupper, The Daily Republic, Mitchell Anne Homan, The Lennox Independent	2019	Brian Haenchen, Argus Leader, Sioux Falls Beth Fennel, Dakota Dunes-North Sioux City Times
2008	Nathan Johson, Yankton Daily Press & Dakotan Jamie Gibson, Parker New Era	2020	Arielle Zionts, Rapid City Journal Gray Hughes, Hill City Prevailer News
2009	Kayla Gahagan, Rapid City Journal Amanda Fanger, Onida Watchman	2022	Erin Woodiel, Argus Leader, Sioux Falls
	Amanda I anger, Onida wateninan	2023	Matt Case, Rapid City Journal Esther Noe, Hill City Prevailer-News